In a clear vote of support for Manfred Weber, the Members of the European People’s Party (EPP) Parliament Group re-elected Weber as the group’s president.

With 179 MEPs elected from the 23-26 May 2019 elections, the EPP Group remains the biggest political group in the European Parliament with the 179 MEPs elected on 23-26 May. Despite the less than impressive numbers, Weber was chosen to lead the campaign as the EPP’s lead candidate to replace Jean-Claude Juncker as president of the European Commission.

Along with Weber, the 10 vice-presidents included in the EPP’s group presidency are Dubravka Šuica (HDZ, Croatia), Esteban González Pons (PP, Spain), Ewa Kopacz (PO, Poland), Siegfried Mureșan (PNL, Romania), Mairead McGuinness (FG, Ireland), Esther de Lange (CDA, Netherlands), Arnaud Danjean (LR, France), Andrey Kovatchev (GERB, Bulgaria), Evangelos Meimarakis (ND, Greece) and Paulo Rangel (PSD, Portugal).

“Now is the time to deliver on our promises, to show people that we can change Europe,” Weber said while outlining the group’s priorities. “We want to strengthen our social market economies, tackle the migration question and the control of our external borders once and for all. We also need to protect citizens from terrorism, as well as organised crime and protect the planet against climate change and the destruction of biodiversity. To achieve this, we are ready to work together with other political groups for a stable and ambitious partnership for change in the years to come…to deliver a better Europe,” Weber added.