Polling stations opened in Ireland at 07:00 local time (same as GMT) and close to 3.3 million Irish citizens are eligible to vote for the next Irish government.

The new Irish parliament (Dáil) is reduced in size as it will be comprised by 157 MPs, meaning any new government needs the support of nearly 80 elected members. In the previous elections Dáil had 165 seats.

According to the polls many Irish citizens turned away from the mainstream parties to smaller factions. On 22 February, an op...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now