European Commission President-elect, Ursula von der Leyen, has made public the assignments of all the portfolios to the Commissioners-designate, completing the puzzle of the 2019-2024 college of Commissioners.

The five vice-presidents named by von der Leyen are:

Josep Borrell (Spain, current Spanish Foreign Minister): HR/VP-designate, A Stronger Europe in the World;

Věra Jourová (Czech Republic, Commissioner in the Juncker Commission): Values and Transparency;

Margaritis Schinas (Greece, former Member of the European Parliament, a long-serving official of the European Commission): Protecting our European Way of Life;

Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia, Vice-President in the Juncker Commission): Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight;

Dubravka Šuica (Croatia, Member of the European Parliament): Democracy and Demography. Šuica will also lead, from the Commission side, the work on the Conference on the Future of Europe.

The other Commissioners-designate are:

Johannes Hahn (Austria) will be in charge of Budget and Administration and report directly to von der Leyen. As a long-serving member of the College, he’s known as someone who understands the importance of nurturing a modern administration.

Didier Reynders (Belgium) a trained lawyer, he is a highly experienced former national Finance Minister, Minister for Foreign and European Affairs, and Minister of Defence. In the new Commission, he will be responsible for Justice, including the rule of law.

Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria) the current European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, she worked will now move on to overseeing the portfolio for Innovation and Youth.

Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus) is a medical psychologist with many years of experience in the field of social affairs, health, and cancer prevention. She will now serve as Health Commissioner.

Kadri Simson (Estonia) is a long-serving member of the Estonian parliament and former Minister for Economic Affairs and Infrastructure. She has been tapped to handle the bloc’s energy policy as the new Commissioner for Energy.

Jutta Urpilainen (Finland) a former Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, as well as a long-time member of the Finnish Parliament’s Foreign Affairs Committee; she has also worked as a special envoy in Ethiopia. Urpilainen will take over responsibility for International Partnerships.

Sylvie Goulard (France) former Member of European Parliament, she becomes the next Internal Market Commissioner charged with working on industrial policy and promoting the Digital Single Market. Goulard will also be responsible for the new Directorate-General for Defence Industry and Space.

László Trócsányi (Hungary) the former Minister of Justice of Hungary, he will oversee the bloc’s foreign policy towards the EU’s nearest neighbours as the Commissioner for Enlargement.

Phil Hogan (Ireland) the incumbent Commissioner for Agriculture, Hogan now transfers his experience to become the EU’s post-Brexit Commissioner for Trade.

Paolo Gentiloni (Italy) former Italian Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, will share his vast experience as the next European Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs.

Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania) Lithuania’s Minister for Economy and Innovation, Sinkevičius will be responsible for Environment and Oceans.

Nicolas Schmit (Luxembourg) is bringing his experience from the European Parliament and his service as national Minister for Employment and Labour, and will now be responsible for jobs as the Commissioner for Employment.

Helena Dalli (Malta) has dedicated her political life to equality, serving as Minister for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties, and also as a Minister for European Affairs and Equality. She will lead the Equality portfolio.

Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland) was a long-serving Member of the European Parliament in the Agriculture Committee and is currently a Member of the European Court of Auditors. He will be in charge of the portfolio Agriculture.

Elisa Ferreira (Portugal) is currently Vice-Governor of Banco de Portugal. She has been a Member of the European Parliament for many years and was the Portuguese Minister for Planning and Minister for Environment. In her new role will be Commissioner in charge of Cohesion and Reforms.

Rovana Plumb (Romania) is a Member of the European Parliament, as well as the Vice-President of the Social and Democrats Group, and a former Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Minister of Labour, Minister of European Funds, Minister of Education and Minister of Transport in her native Romania. In her new role, she will be the Commissioner for Transport.

Janez Lenarčič (Slovenia) was Secretary of State for European Affairs and worked closely for several years with the United Nations, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and the European Union. He will now be in charge of Crisis Management for the von der Leyen Commission.

Ylva Johansson (Sweden) is the Minister for Employment and the former Minister for Schools as well as Health and Elderly Care and member of Swedish Parliament. She is also a highly respected expert in the fields of employment, integration, health and welfare. She will now serve as the Commissioner for Home Affairs.

Yesterday, President-elect von der Leyen announced the list of Commissioners-designate by country: