The European Parliament’s 2017 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought will be awarded to Democratic Opposition in Venezuela in Strasbourg on December 13.

Following a decision by the Parliament President Antonio Tajani and the leaders of the political groups on 26 October, the Democratic Opposition in Venezuela (National Assembly (Julio Borges) and all political prisoners as listed by Foro Penal Venezolano represented by Leopoldo López, Antonio Ledezma, Daniel Ceballos, Yon Goicoechea, Lorent S...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now