The European Parliament on October 25 approved the amendments needed to integrate the new European Union’s entry-exit system (EES) into the Schengen Border Code.

With a majority vote (496 votes to 137, with 32 abstentions), the MEPs paved the way for the creation of a register of all visa and visa-exempt travellers admitted to stay for up to 90 days.

Under the new EES, which is part of the smart borders package presented by the European Commission in April 2016, all non-EU nationals will a...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now