A founder member of the European Coal and Steal Community, the forerunner to today's EU, Luxembourg has not been effected by recent changes to European parliament numbers, and will continue to elect 6 MEPs. Seats are allocated according to the D'Hondt method.

The current prime minister, Jean-Claude Juncker, is Europe's longest-serving (January 1995), and despite a recent phone-tapping scandal that brought down the government, still looks set to be his party's nomination for prime minister in ...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now