NUR-SULTAN, Kazakhstan – The deputies of the Majilis of Kazakhstan, the Lower House of Parliament, on 19 June approved the ratification of the Agreement on International Cooperation between the Kazakh Government and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN).

“Cooperation with CERN is very important and promising,” Kazakhstan’s Energy Minister Kanat Bozumbayev told MPs. “Firstly, it allows concentrating resources on priority areas, in fact, making a breakthrough into the future – first in fundamental knowledge, and then in technologies,” he added.

According to the minister, successful research in the field of high-energy physics and particle physics can be conducted only by the combined efforts of scientists from many countries, only by concentrating the intelligence of world science.

“Within the framework of the Agreement, Kazakh scientists will be able to gain access to the Large Hadron Collider and a number of other research facilities,” Bozumbayev said.

The nuclear industry in Kazakhstan, he said, is one of the most promising. He said that three research nuclear reactors and many other nuclear facilities are operating in the scientific institutions of the republic, namely the National Nuclear Center of Kazakhstan in Kurchatov and the Institute of Nuclear Physics in Almaty.

“Currently, Kazakhstan is among those countries that are able to independently carry out work on fundamental and applied nuclear physics, nuclear and radiation technologies. This is a niche where we can cooperate on equal terms with the most developed countries,” he said, adding that ratification of this Agreement provides an opportunity for Kazakh scientists and specialists to undergo internships at existing facilities and participate in planned experiments and scientific research of CERN without any membership fees.

Kazakhstan began work on developing its cooperation with CERN in 2016. To create a legal framework for cooperation with CERN, the Agreement on International Cooperation between Kazakhstan’s government and CERN on scientific and technical cooperation was signed in Geneva on 29 June 2018.