The introduction of the Lisbon Treaty saw the number of MEPs in Ireland, which has contested each of the European Parliament elections since their inception in 1979, reduced from 13 to 12 for the 2009 elections. The accession of Croatia as the 28th member of the EU, will see this reduced again, to 11 in 2014, in order to facilitate new rules governing the parliament.

Unlike most EU member states, Ireland is divided into constituencies (Dublin, East, North-West, South), where MEPs are elected ...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now