Europe’s foreign affairs council will meet today in Brussels to begin talks on the current situation in the Sahel, including a joint session with foreign and defence ministers from the Sub-Saharan region’s five main countries – Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania, and Niger.

Full remarks from the EU’s foreign policy chief, Federica Mogherini, upon her arrival at the foreign affairs council can be found here.