According to a new strategy presented by the European Commission on February 6 that the countries of the Western Balkans could join the EU as early as 2025.

The Commission’s action plan states that the path to EU membership for Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYROM/Macedonia, and Albania lays in the individual countries ability settle several key internal as well as regional issues – all which will be major obstacles in a region known for its troubled history of ethnic and religio...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now