Eurojust and Serbia have signed a cooperation agreement on 12 November in Serbia’s capital, Belgrade.

The agreement was signed by Serbia’s Minister of justice, Nela Kuburović, and Eurojust’s President, Ladislav Hamran. It unlocks the potential for enhanced judicial cooperation between the two sides, by enabling Serbia to share personal data and evidence with prosecutors and investigators from all over Europe.

“Serbia can benefit from our practical cooperation tools in the prosecution of serious cross-border crime cases. Cooperation and mutual trust can lead to a more successful fight against crime in the region”, Hamran said.

Including the agreement with Serbia, Eurojust has cooperation agreements with 12 countries, three of which are with countries in the Western Balkans: North Macedonia (2008), Montenegro (2016) and Albania (2018).

The agreement will enter into force after all requirements have been fulfilled.