The EU’s poorest Member State, Bulgaria, is now a step closer to the euro after the 19 finance ministers of the Eurogroup agreed that Sofia should become the 20th country in the Eurozone by July 2019.
The Eurogroup signed off on a set of commitments on July 12 that set the requirements for Bulgaria to join the doc’s banking union.
The plan consists of a programme of supervisory reforms that will allow for strengthened cooperation with the European Central Bank. According to what has been agree...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now