ASTANA - A lot has been said and written about the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) of Kazakhstan, Russia, and Belarus. The skeptics called it a revival of the USSR. The EAEU member states’ presidents referred to it as a purely economic union.

On the first of this year, all customs barriers among the three post-Soviet republics have been removed. EAEU’s main principle of “four freedoms” means free movement, in the territories of these three countries, of labour, goods, capital, and finance...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now