EU to extend and scale up sanctions on Russia


High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini (L) during a meeting with Polish Prime Minister Beata Szydlo (not seen) in Warsaw, Poland, 02 June 2016. The main topics of Mogherini's meetings with President Andrzej Duda, PM Beata Szydlo and Foreign Minister Witold Waszczykowski were July's NATO summit in Warsaw, EU sanctions against Russia and the EU's Eastern Partnership programme.

EU to extend and scale up sanctions on Russia

European Union diplomats agreed on Tuesday to extend and scale up economic sanctions against Russia for six months until January 2017.

The current programme was set to expire in July.

The EU imposed its first sanctions against Russia in July 2014 in response to the downing of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 in Eastern Ukraine. Sanctions include the financial, defense, and energy sectors. Furthermore, EU member states are not allowed to import products, invest, or buy and sell tourist service...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now