The European Union Council adopted on 11 November a framework for restrictive measures in response to Turkey’s “unauthorized drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean”.

“The framework will make it possible to sanction individuals or entities responsible for or involved in unauthorised drilling activities of hydrocarbons in the Eastern Mediterranean”, the Council stated.

The sanctions will consist of a travel ban to the EU and an assets freeze for persons and entities, who will be forbidden from making funds available to those listed.

Turkey has consistently contested the Greek Cypriot administration’s unilateral drilling in the Eastern Mediterranean, insisting that the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus also has rights to the resources in the area.