Eleven member states sign-up to FTT

Eleven member states sign-up to FTT

European finance ministers have paved the way for the EU to introduce a financial transaction tax (FTT) through the process of enhanced co-operation.

The tax was agreed by 11member states during a meeting of the economic and financial affairs council in Brussels on 22 January.

The member sates that agreed to the tax are Austria, Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Italy Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Spain. It is strongly opposed by the UK, as well as Ireland, which currently...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now