Cyyprus will elect 6 MEPs using the party list PR system. The candidates fight in one constituency nationally.

2014 Election

In post-bailout Cyprus the fate of only three out of six European Parliament seats appears a safe guess. One each will most probably go to ruling DISI and opposition communists AKEL. Newly founded Symmahia Politon, headed by a former candidate for the country presidency, Lillikas, is also likely to win a seat as European elections typically favour newcomers.

What will happen to the other three Cypriot seats very much depends on the outcome of the DIKO party conference expected to take place in December and likely to feature a leadership battle that could even see DIKO split in two or lose members to other parties.

A point of potential interest lies in what will happen in the Northern part of the island which is formally part of the European Union but ruled by a Turkish-Cypriot government not recognised internationally. It is thought that if the votes of the whole island were to be cast and counted in the same election, the Turkish Cypriots would elect two MPs.

In 2007 a report by the European Parliament’s high-level contact group for relations with the Turkish Cypriot community in the northern part of the island, a cross-political group suggested something akin to holding a “mock” election in the North with the “elected” candidates attending the European Parliament as observers. The idea is still popular with many in Brussels and also enjoys support with some Turkish Cypriots. Is is also likely to find favour with the staunchly pro-European Republic Turkish Party which came first in July’s general election.


2009 Election

Electorate: 526,060 votes
Turnout: 59.4 %

Results by number of MEPs, party (European political group) and vote share

2 – Democratic Rally (EPP) 35.65%

2 – Progressive Party of Working People (EUL-NGL) 34.90%

1 – Democratic Party (other) 12.28%

1 – Movement for Social Democrats (PES) 9.85%