The EU's 28 members have backed the bloc's copyright rules that would force Google and Facebook to compensate publishers, while copyrighted content will now have to be filleted by YouTube or Instagram.

A majority of EU diplomats agreed to the revision, while Finland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and Poland refused to support the agreement. Only two EU members abstained.

Negotiators from across the bloc, along with the European Parliament and the European Commission, sealed an agre...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now