STRASBOURG - The European Union is open for business but cannot be naïve and needs to protect the EU financial system, Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality Commissioner Věra Jourová said in Strasbourg on February 13 after the Commission adopted its new list of 23 countries with strategic deficiencies in their anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing frameworks.

“The EU should not be a destination of money laundering,” Jourová told a press conference. The latest legislation also...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now