The names of six shortlisted European cities that will contend to win the 2020 Access City Award were published by the EU Commission on 23 October and include Castellón de la Plana (Spain), Chania (Greece), Évreux (France), Skellefteå (Sweden), Tartu (Estonia), and Warsaw (Poland).

The winner of the Award will be announced on 29 November during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference in Brussels, an event that is organised annually by the European Commission alongside the European Disability Forum.

The Access City Awards, which will be celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, is an EU initiative that offers recognition of a city’s willingness, ability, and effort to improve the quality of life of every person regardless of age, mobility, or ability. Cities that have worked to make it easier for those with disabilities and older citizens to have access to public and private areas are recognised with an award.

The number of people with disabilities in the European Union is expected to exceed 120 million by 2020, while, at the same time, Europe’s overall population is becoming older and the birthrate continues to drop.

47 EU cities had applied for the Access City Award this year after Breda in the Netherlands took home the honour in 2018.