ASTANA - On August 12, the heads of the five Caspian states will meet in Aktau, Kazakhstan, for years-long discussions on determining the status of the Caspian Sea.

The Caspian saga among the littoral states dates back to 1992, when the dissolution of the Soviet Union resulted in the formation of four independent countries – Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Turkmenistan.

Throughout these years, the five countries, including Iran, have been discussing very important issues of the shared ...

This story is part of New Europe's Premium content.

To Read the Full Story, Subscribe or Sign In from the ↑ Top of the Page ↑
new europe join now