In a morning vote on 30 September 2019, the European Parliament Legal Affairs Committee voted that Commissioners-designate from Hungary and Romania cannot stay on. The two separate votes pertained to whether the Commissioners-designate are are to exercise their function in accordance with the Treaties and the code of conduct.

In two secret ballots, the committee voted with 13 to 7 against Romania’s Rovana Plumb, and 12 to 9 against Hungary’s László Trócsányi.

What will follow now is an official communication from European Parliament President David Sassoli to European Commission President-elect Ursula von der Leyen to say that the process of the hearings of these two candidates cannot go forward, and that new candidates will need to be nominated by the two member states in question.

The rest of the European Commissioners’ hearings is expected to go on normally, with the schedule unaffected.