The European Union signed the Political Roadmap on the Electricity Synchronisation at a special ceremony in Brussels on June 28, European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker, Lithuanian President Dalia Grybauskaitė, Estonian Prime Minister Jüri Ratas, Latvian Prime Minister Māris Kučinskis and Polish Premier Mateusz Morawiecki signed the Political Roadmap on the synchronisation of the Baltic States’ electricity networks with the continental European network.

According to the Commission, this follows the meeting on March 22, where Juncker and the same Leaders gave the synchronisation project a renewed impetus.

“Since the beginning of our mandate, my Commission has been committed to having the full integration of the Baltic States grids with the rest of Europe. It is our duty and a question of necessity for the Baltic States and for the Union. In this Roadmap we set the target date of 2025 for the full synchronization,” Juncker said.

“When people are in sync, things work out well. Today we are witnessing a project where we decided to work together towards a common goal. With patience, hard work, and a spirit of compromise we managed to find European solutions that are built on solidarity and strengthen our Union. The synchronisation of the Baltic States with the European electricity system is a cornerstone and one of the most emblematic projects of the Energy Union and a concrete expression of solidarity in energy security,” the European Commission President said, adding that the synchronisation process is crucial to complete the integration of the Baltic States with the European energy system.

“It will constitute a major contribution to the unity and energy security of the European Union,” Juncker said.

According to the Commission, the Heads of State or Government thanked all involved for the speedy progress of the preparatory work, which was conducted by Ministers of Energy of the respective countries in cooperation with Commission Vice-President for the Energy Union Maroš Šefčovič and Climate Action and Energy Commissioner Miguel Arias Cañete. Leaders also reiterated that in order for the project to be successful, the support from Connecting Europe Facility funds would be crucial.

The Political Roadmap signed on June 28 sets the scene for the practical implementation by presenting a clear timetable of actions, the Commission said, adding that the first of such action is the launch, this September, of the European Network of Transmission System Operators (ENTSO-E) procedure as a first technical step for extending the Continental European Network to the Baltic States.